USTA North Carolina Awards Committee announced the winners of the 2018 USTA North Carolina awards at the Carolina Hotel in Pinehurst on January 26, 2019. Our Western North Carolina 2018 winners are listed below.

TENNIS WEEKEND (Jan. 26, 2019)

  • Adult/Senior Tennis Council Award: Rodney Sparks (Hendersonville))
  • Debbie Southern Junior Tennis Female Sportsmanship Award – 12s: Ann Harrison Wilde (Hendersonville))
  • High School Coach of the Year Given In Honor of Coach Ron Lee: Mike Vandegrift (Lake Toxaway)
  • Special Tennis Event of the Year Given In Honor of Bev Earle: 2018 Asheville Fed Cup Tie – USA vs Netherlands (Asheville)
  • Walt Stamer Male Senior Player of the Year: Willis Anderson (Asheville)


  • Community Tennis Association of the Year: Asheville Tennis Association (Asheville))
  • League Volunteer Service Award Given by Omega Sports: Mindy Nelson (Asheville)